9/11/11 @ BETHEL BIBLE CHURCH

If you ever wonder how much I love you and how hard I work to blog for you, consider this…

I am writing this in the parking lot of On The Border. THAT’S how much I love you.

REDEEMED RESTORED FORGIVEN (A)
Dear-every-worship-leader-in-America…please add this song to your catalog immediately! Every time we do it, I’m more encouraged and inspired by this song by Matthew Smith. One of my favorite elements of this tune are the fills that our B3 guy, Tim, adds in verse 2 – he does great! Good opening song for both services.

Psalm 116:1-7
I welcomed folks and gave them a little preview of what a great, packed service we had. I read this:
I love the LORD, because he has heard my voice and my pleas for mercy. Because he inclined his ear to me, therefore I will call on him as long as I live. The snares of death encompassed me; the pangs of Sheol laid hold on me; I suffered distress and anguish. Then I called on the name of the LORD:
“O LORD, I pray, deliver my soul!” Gracious is the LORD, andrighteous; our God ismerciful.
The LORD preserves the simple; when I was brought low, he saved me.
Return, O my soul, to your rest; for the LORD has dealt bountifully with you.

I talked about “Pass Me Not” and encouraged folks to sing along. In the second service, I mentioned that Psalm 116 was the perfect answer/example of this old hymn. Then we jumped into it!

PASS ME NOT, O GENTLE SAVIOR (A)
Recently grabbed this track of Bart Millard’s Hymned project. I like those records, but they’re primary performance works and not necessarily worship albums. However, I loved this cut-time groove for this old song. Thursday, we rehearsed it a good bit and even built in an instrumental chorus for my electric player and B3 guy to solo over. Oh my gosh…the hardest part was to keep from just looping choruses while Smitty and Tim wailed.

Welcome
Today was our big vote on the church merger with Arbor Bible Fellowship. Our Executive Pastor, Fritz Hager, Jr., welcomed folks and spoke briefly about our response on the anniversary of 9/11. He read from Psalm 146 and gave a great encouragement that we were going to do what God’s people have done for hundreds of years in times of trouble – remember His faithfulness, celebrate His promises and give Him praise. Fritz then called our “vote” to order. He prayed a beautiful prayer of trust and praise. He then encouraged folks to greet one another.

MY HOPE IS YOU (C)
This Third Day song is a regular for us. By this third song, the musicians were completely locked into one another’s playing style. This song has so much working for us – it’s scriptural, it’s easy to learn and it’s got room for singers and players to go big! In our second service, our stretched out the ending just a bit.

Interview
This was our second week to promote our new season of Life Groups. Our director, Jeff Bice, interviewed a couple from our church and they did a great job. The interview was clear, concise and painted a great picture of what “Life Groups done right” looks like. This also set up Jeff’s invitation to our Life Group Launch on Sunday night.

ALWAYS (B)
Second time to use this Stanfill song. Like last week, I prayed after the interview and tried to transition us into this song by praying two things – first, thanking God for what relationships do for us; how they keep us accountable and remind us of God’s faithfulness. Then secondly, I prayed about God’s faithfulness specifically, which then transitioned into the song. Sarah sang the verses and did an AMAZING job, especially in the 2nd verse build. Our drums and bass were perfectly in sync on this song. The song went great.

Sermon
Earlier in the week, Ross and I looked at the free 9/11 video from Northpoint Church. Ross felt like his Jacob sermon was a great tie in to this video in particular.

Leave a Reply

