10/2/11 @ BETHEL BIBLE CHURCH

Second week of our Elemental series. (Watch our bumper here.)

Personally, it was one of those weird days where I was fighting illness. I don’t get sick very often, but when I do, Sundays are the hardest part. During the second set, I had to work pretty hard to stay engaged, focused, etc. I always have to guard against just numbly playing through the tunes when I’m under the weather. I think it went okay, but just was a bit more challenging.

I was excited to play with our guest bass player, CJ. He played a few weeks ago when I was gone and I asked him to come back so I could jam with him! He did a great job and I think he’ll be a great fit with the band this month. Excited to have him in the mix!

We also had our percussionist, Yogi, back on stage. He’s been gone for quite a while and it was nice to have him back!

BRAND NEW DAY (E)
Haven’t done this one in awhile and I was pumped to do it again! Loved Smitty’s slide playing on it and the rhythm section was especially strong. Our organ player had an emergency and had to leave before second set and I think I missed him most on this one! Some smoking B3 just takes this song to a whole new level!

Welcome
Did a brief welcome while I changed my capo. Mentioned that we were bringing back a hymn from a few weeks ago that folks seemed to dig.

PASS ME NOT, O GENTLE SAVIOR (A)
Definitely, the most fun thing we’ve learned recently. This is from Bart Millard’s Hymned record and my gang is getting smooth on this one. Thought it felt much more natural this go around. In the first service, I spoke a little bit before Verse 3 and told folks that they just HAD to sway on this song. That wasn’t planned, but the band did a great job of grooving while I talked. In the second service, I did the whole sway thing before we started the tune. One hard part – I capo at the 8th fret for this song. Eight! It works, but since I start the song, I always have that fear that I’ve misjudged and the band’s gonna’ come in and we’re going to have absolute chaos. Fortunately…that didn’t happen.

Welcome w/ Ross
Ross opened with a couple of announcements. We don’t do announcements in that spot very often, but Ross does a good job of making sure whatever we’re announcing is something that’s Kingdom-building and grounded in what God’s called us to do. He read scripture and prayed over us.

O THIS GOD (G)
I’m not playing around…worship leaders, please start doing this song! You will not be disappointed! The band sounded great on this Redman song. It’s a simple song with a fantastic groove and having our percussionist up this week took the tune to the next level. Lately, we’ve been cutting the closing chorus and ending it pretty cold, but the band kept being surprised by that ending. We decided to play a full intro out of the song. Our keyboard player and organist were especially good on this tune.

Communion
Spoke a little bit about communion to start. I’ve come to really love the slowness and intention of communion so I wanted to stress that we were going to take our time. I mentioned that I would be praying over them from the Book of Common Prayer. (I used the “modern language” appendix version.) It was long, but it worked.

Above all things you must give most humble and hearty thanks to God, the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit, for the redemption of the world by the death and passion of our Saviour Christ, both God and man; who humbled Himself, even to the death upon the Cross, for us, miserable sinners, who lay in darkness and the shadow of death; that He might make us the children of God, and exalt us to everlasting life.

And to the end that we should always remember the exceeding great love of our Master, and only Saviour, Jesus Christ, thus dying for us, and the innumerable benefits which by his precious blood-shedding he has obtained for us; He has instituted and ordained holy mysteries, as pledges of His love, and for a continual remembrance of His death, to our great and endless comfort.

To Him therefore, with the Father and the Holy Spirit, let us give, as we are most bound to do, continual thanks; submitting ourselves wholly to His holy will and pleasure, and studying to serve Him in true holiness and righteousness all the days of our life. Amen.

REMEMBRANCE (D)
Another great Matt Redman song. As I prayed for communion, Karen played the keyboard intro. I think this was probably the best song of the day. The band landed it perfectly – it was precise but also laid back and a good companion to the vibe of communion. We’ve adapted the song so that we always fall to the opening progression. This allows for me to watch the ushers to see if they’re still passing out the elements and I can call whatever section we’re doing next. This lets us stretch the song without overstaying our welcome. Once the ushers are back, I read I Corinthians 11:24-26 and then we took the elements. The band then transitioned into the bridge of the song.

Loved hanging out with this team and making music for our King!!!

Leave a Reply

