WHAT I’LL SAY

I was a worship kid.

From a very young age, I was fascinated with everything about corporate worship.

As a teenager growing up during the “worship wars”, I picked a side and I stood my ground. And I was wrong about almost every single thing. The guy who lead worship at my church was named John. I didn’t respect John and I only became more negative as my ability to lead worship grew.

I’m 35 years old and I don’t know if I’ll ever see John again. But if I do, here’s what I need to tell him.

  • You led a church through a tumultuous time with regard to worship and yet you were amazingly considerate to the unique makeup of our church. At the time, I thought you were a coward for not picking a “style”. Now I see you were trying to love a very diverse group of people in ways that mattered to them.
  • You sacrificed your own personal style for the sake of the body. I can see now how hard that was and I know that the church was better because you did it.
  • When I decided to give up leading worship, you were the first person to say, “That’s crazy. You’re called to this.” And you did it knowing that I was an arrogant, foolish kid who thought I was better than everyone else.
  • I honestly thought this job was about impressing people. You knew the truth – that’s it’s about loving them.
  • When you were right about something, I worked to disprove it. But when I made the right leadership choices, you saw them and encouraged me.
  • In your own quiet way, you fought against sin’s all-out assault to consume the life of a young musician. Thank you for that.
  • I’m a better worship leader because of you.

Thank you, John, for leading well. Even when nobody noticed.

Leave a Reply

