5 THINGS I THINK ABOUT DURING REHEARSAL

It wasn’t my intention to write these chronologically, but as it stands, they tend to occur in real time over the 1.5 hour rehearsal we usually do each week.

I think it’s important to balance focused rehearsal times with periods of rest, and I can safely say that the five thoughts below occur in roughly 98% of our rehearsals.

Mentally, of course.

It would not do for me to be speaking most of these phrases into my microphone.

1. “REHEARSALS ARE DUMB.”
I could be at home spending quality time with my family playing XBOX.

2. “DID ANYBODY LISTEN TO THEIR MUSIC?”
Seriously? Am I the only person who knows what we’re playing here? How can I make this rehearsal end on time when these goofballs haven’t even heard the song?

3. “HEY, THAT WAS COOL.”
Band pulled it together on that one. That’ll be a nice spot in the set.

4. “THESE GUYS ARE GOOD.”
They did listen to their stuff after all. Just needed to warm up, I guess. Plus, they’re doing some new things on this tune. I like how this is sounding.

5. “REHEARSALS ARE GREAT.”
It’s a rare thing to leave rehearsal bummed. Most every week, I come away excited about Sunday and more at-ease with the worship elements have been planned.

COMMENT:

  • What about you? What’s running through YOUR head during rehearsal?
One comment

Leave a Reply

