SIX MOST IRRATIONAL FEARS ABOUT FUNDING AN ALBUM ON KICKSTARTER

Well, this guy looks cool, huh?

Earlier today, I launched a Kickstarter campaign to fund a new worship album and it simultaneously excites – and terrifies – me.

I love writing for congregational singing, but the whole “help me pay for my CD” thing feels a bit weird and stirs up some odd fears about the whole process.

FEAR #1 – AMAZON HATES ME
As of right now, I’m having huge problems getting Amazon Payments & Kickstarter to play nicely together. They’re working hard to get it fixed, but I’d be lying if I said I’m not walking around worried that Amazon and Kickstarter will never work and no one will have a way to donate. I’m not in a good place here, guys.

FEAR #2 – NOT ENOUGH
Did you know there’s a online series highlighting the greatest Kickstarter failures to date? That’s a sad list, my friends. I keep imagining sitting in front of a camera sheepishly telling my friends that we didn’t make the money by the deadline. Then I imagine eating Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream until I can’t weep anymore. This is not rational, people. But it is real.

FEAR #3 – FORGETTING ABOUT IT
That can’t really happen, can it? Is it possible I would get busy with work and family and candy and forget that I was even trying to raise money? I’m worried that might happen. Then one day somebody says, Hey, did you raise that money for your CD yet? And then, more tears from this guy.

FEAR #4 – NOT ENOUGH SONGS
I guess this is more about the recording process, but I keep looking at the gaps in my songlist and wondering how I’m going to fill them. I’ve got a lot of songs, but which ones are good enough to go on the record? Shouldn’t I be Mr. Confident and already know all 10 songs and how they’ll go and what I’ll sing and play and how long each song will be?

FEAR #5 – MY CHURCH BAND REVOLTS
With a team the size of Bethel’s, there is simply no way to use my local players on a project without making very clear choices about who’s “good enough” to play on a CD. That’s not a experience I want to go through. I’m confident the band understands and is supportive, but wouldn’t it be terrible if they all just stopped coming to church because I wouldn’t put them on the record.

FEAR #6 –  I’LL MAKE A BAD RECORD
I am pumped that I’ve secured such a fantastic producer. I think he’s going to seriously elevate the quality of what I’m doing and I’m excited to use stellar musicians. But it’s still me. And what if my “studio voice” went bad when I turned 35. (Like everything else in my life…sheesh. Getting old is lame, y’all.) What if I picked terrible songs. What if there’s not enough ice cream in the studio?

_______

Well, there you go. A peek inside the foolishness. Hope you enjoyed it. It’s gonna’ be a wild few months.

Leave a Reply

