THE WEIRD ENCOUNTERS

You know that thing where you’re out in public and somebody walks up to you and says, “Hey, don’t you sing at my church?”

I am not good in that situation.

It happens occasionally and as much as I prepare for it, I am never ready. Years and years of worship leading and I’m still terrible at the random meeting.

I’m a nice guy, I’m easy-going and I really enjoy hanging out with people. But I am bad at this.

WHAT’S IN A NAME?
No matter how hard I try, I am not going to remember that person’s name. It vanishes from my brain the second they say it. I’m sincere in nodding and smiling, but that name is GONE.

WHO IS THIS PERSON?
Once the initial introduction happens, I’ve got nothing. Every once in awhile, I’ll manage, “How long have you been coming?” or “How did you find out about us?” but most of the time I’m just going alternate between long “yeahs” and strange silences.

FEAR OF SCREAMING
I spend a lot of time with my family. In fact, you’ve see me “in town”, I’m probably going to be with my crew. Every time I meet a stranger from my church, my mind is reeling: Did they see me yelling at my kids?

What? You don’t yell at your kids in the store? Not even in Wal-Mart? THAT’S WHAT I THOUGHT.

______________

If you’re one of those nice people who have introduced yourself to me in the past – um, 20 years – I’m sorry. I’m a nice guy and I probably made the whole thing really weird. If you see me again, give me another shot. I’m bound to get this right eventually.

Leave a Reply

