FIVE THINGS YOUR SOUND GUY IS PROBABLY THINKING

You can find lots of volunteers to run the sound board, but locating a good, humble, skilled sound engineer is tough.

I’m blessed to have multiple guys at my church who both mix well and serve with kindness. Sure, they rant from time to time, but I’m fortunate to have good people who have the right perspective on ministry. It makes me sad to think of all the stuff we put them through. If only we could hear what they’re thinking on a given Sunday…

I NEED A NEW SOUND BOARD!
This worship leader keeps demanding more “power” and “texture” but it’s kinda’ hard to provide with this 12 channel Peavy system they’ve given me back here. Two of the sliders don’t work and even if I had an effects unit, there’s nowhere to plug it in.

THEY’RE DOING THIS SONG AGAIN.
They’ve done this song for three months and they still miss that turnaround EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. This would be so much easier if I could just mute a couple of these instruments. I’m so sick of this song.

WHO IS THAT?
I just now learned everybody’s name (2 year process) and now they’ve added new musicians! I don’t know these new people. They’re probably bad players. I’m gonna’ watch them like a hawk!

THAT FEEDBACK WASN’T MY FAULT
Somebody else did that, so all you rubber-necks can just turn back around. There’s nothing to see here. Somebody up there unplugged something, I’m sure. Probably the bass player. That guy loves to make me look bad.

COFFEE
So sleepy so sleepy why did I not go to bed earlier this is way too early for a practice I’m going to die right here at the console somebody bring me some coffee quick before I ruin my testimony and start throwing my shoes at the band. Coffee. Coffee. Coffee.

Feel free to share with your sound engineers…I’d love to know what else should be on the list!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

