FRIDAY INSTIGATION

Debate is a good thing. Somewhere in the worship culture we’ve decided that every new album is good, all sermons are theologically sound and there are no bad worship songs.

I don’t submit these little mini-rants for the sake of venting (although it helps.) I do it because some stuff is great and some stuff isn’t. And it should be talked about.

  • Worship leaders, stop calling yourself “dreamers.” You’re pastors. Your job is to serve God’s people, not land a gig where you can pursue all your dreams. Some of your dreams are awful. (I speak from experience…) 
  • Every time I see a testimonial video from some church about the “worship,” all I hear is how worship makes the person feel. Churches, please start talking more about God than yourselves.
  • When publishers/labels send out CDs for reviews, what do they do if the reviews are bad? I’m genuinely interested as to why I hardly ever see bad reviews of Christian – specifically worship – albums. Anybody have experience with this?
  • Tweeting pictures of “all the books” you plan on reading is bragging, right? Can we get a consensus on this and make all pastors stop trying to impress me with their massive reading plans for 2013? Nobody ever tweets a picture in December sharing all the books they didn’t read the previous year.
  • My record is done. Mastering and duplication scheduled very soon. Some days I think it’s a masterpiece. Most days I think nobody’s-gonna-like-this-at-all. (REALTALK.)

Okay, that’s the stuff that bugged me this week. Have thoughts?

One comment

  1. Kelly Perkins

    I agree with all the above. Sometimes, worship leaders and musicians forget what this is all about. It is about worshiping our Lord, not impressing others.

Leave a Reply

