BOOK IN PROGRESS: COMMON ROOTS

291855_w185Over the past couple of years, I’ve made an effort to be more of a reader. I’ve tried to seek out books that speak to the ministry of worship and have realized that there’s some real benefit to having a steady diet of different perspectives when it comes to this ministry.

I keep a list of brief reviews at the READS page, but figured I’d use Thursdays as sort of a progress report of the books I’m reading.

At this point, Webber is definitely hitting his stride. There is a lot of good stuff in this book. So far, my appreciation for the historical church is growing. I agree with Webber that the current state of so many churches is anemic, and I’m interested to see how we got that way. He’s talking a lot about the Eucharist at this point, and while he’s starting to get a little weird with it, I really appreciate how much he’s reinforcing the Word and Sacrament as foundations of corporate worship.

That being said, I veer pretty substantially from his view that scripture shouldn’t be the primary focus of our corporate gathering. I’m biased, of course, but I’m not enjoying hippy-dippy take on the ecumenical movement. He’s right in outlining the essentials of Evangelical faith but seems to make light of dedication to doctrine. I get that people can’t be mean about doctrine, but it’s dangerous to just remove it all together. Our doctrine – what we believe about God – vastly impacts how we live and act in society. To play down the importance of doctrine is dangerous. (to pg. 140, so far.)

6 comments

  1. Johnny Simmons

    I would only agree with him to a point, IF he is referring to a theological navel-gazing kind of emphasis on doctrine. Word and Sacrament are both essential, but a fully-orbed liturgy will teach doctrine over time.

    • toddwright

      Yeah, he’s out there on that stuff. But can’t help but love a guy who speaks so clearly against individualism/revivalism. His breakout on the dangers of revivalism is pretty good.

      The book is also making me want to do Communion every week.

  2. johnnydrummer

    “‎Characterizing baptism and the Supper as ‘appendixes’ to the Word, further, is part and parcel of a Protestant tendency toward the ‘primacy of the intellect.’ It is rationalism, in that it reduces baptism and the Supper to a means for communicating information. But that is not what rituals are for.” Rev. Peter J. Leithart

Leave a Reply

