FRIDAY INSTIGATION

Dennis_the_Menace-logo-4B3DF4C3FF-seeklogo.com

Back with another batch of things that drive me crazy. I’m a little less grumpy this week since the new record was released, but it turns out that church world is still just as baffling and weird.

Debate is a good thing. Somewhere in the worship culture we’ve decided that every new album is good, all sermons are theologically sound and there are no bad worship songs.

I don’t submit these little rants for the sake of venting (although it helps.) I do it because some stuff is great and some stuff isn’t. And it should be talked about.

Ever hear that phrase, “We need to know God, not just about Him”? It’s hard to agree with that phrase when so many people in church actually don’t know anything about Him. Shouldn’t we know stuff about Him? And shouldn’t those things draw us to fellowship with Him? It’s a weird distinction to make.

When I was a teenage worship leader, I would get so irate when the worship leader at my church wouldn’t let me borrow church gear or practice on the big stage. I’m an old worship leader now. I get it.

The “promotion” for the new record has been relatively tame (in my opinion) but I am astounded at how much work is involved even in sharing new music – even in the most humble ways.

As a guy who makes money (though not much) from CCLI, I realize this is odd, but sometimes the whole CCLI  thing feels a little sketchy.

Speaking of rights and royalties, this week was contacted by “Rights Flow” an organization that is branching out into managing rights for Gospel music. They were just bought by Google, so I got an email saying, “hey, we owe you $45.) BANK.

Leave a Reply

