PUTTING THE GUITAR DOWN

images (3)For most of these posts, I try to stick with writing about where I am. I write about my church, what we did in worship, things that have worked and things that havent.

But for this one, I’m talking about something I’m about to try:

NOT PLAYING THE GUITAR.

I’m committing to lead worship every week in April with no acoustic guitar in my hand. I’ve done it before, but not like this. I love leading from guitar but I feel like the reasons for this new adventure are too strong to ignore.

#1. Using more players – In the past year, our church has been blessed with an abundance of musicians, and a lot of them are guitar players. As I meet these people and get to know their gifts, I’m realizing that the best way for me to mobilize them for ministry is to get out of the way and let them serve. (For a couple, I suspect this will be the on ramp into actually leading worship in the future.)

#2. Band challenge – Our church band relies on my guitar. Too much, even. They know this, but it still happens. So many of our transitions and intros and repeats are based on cues they get from my playing. Having an acoustic guitar operate as simply another part of the band will challenge my players to step up when it comes to all those nuance moments in songs. I think they’re gonna’ do great!

#3. My hand needs a rest – Since December, I’ve been having some slight pain in my left hand. What was probably a very small injury hasn’t had time to heal over the past few months. Letting someone else play will give me a chance to rest my hand on Sundays.

#4. Physical worship – I think being hands-free will allow me to model physical expressions in worship. Being free to raise hands, clap, move a bit will hopefully be a help to my brothers and sisters in our worship time.

I’m interested to see how this goes. I’ll be blogging the process because I’m sure I’m gonna’ learn a lot from this!

Any of you worship leaders ever done something like this? Any advice?

2 comments

  1. Pingback: WHAT WE DID @ BETHEL: 4/7/13 | SONGS ARE FOR SINGING
  2. Pingback: GUITAR UPDATE | SONGS ARE FOR SINGING

Leave a Reply

