FRIDAY INSTIGATION

Dennis_the_Menace-logo-4B3DF4C3FF-seeklogo.com

Back with another batch of things that drive me crazy. I’m a little less grumpy this week since the new record was released, but it turns out that church world is still just as baffling and weird.

Debate is a good thing. Somewhere in the worship culture we’ve decided that every new album is good, all sermons are theologically sound and there are no bad worship songs.

I don’t submit these little rants for the sake of venting (although it helps.) I do it because some stuff is great and some stuff isn’t. And it should be talked about.

– I think normal drum kits are too big. In youth service last week, had drummer go with just kick, snare, floor tom, hat and ride. It was perfect. Drummer played great, groove was so strong. I’m becoming more and more a “no rolls” guy. (Look in the comments below to see if Johnny yells at me for this one.)

– If you ever want to freak out an electric guitar player, just casually mention new gear. They can’t stand it. They’re cursed with gearhead disease.

– As we close in on the first month of me not playing guitar in worship, I’m considering doing a short couple of videos to pass to my guitar players. They did a good job, but it’s interesting that each of them struggled in the same areas. Maybe playing rhythm acoustic is harder than we all knew! (See…I told y’all I was awesome!)

– Deactivated my Facebook this week. Feels good.

– Realizing, however, that a lot of connection among church members happens at Facebook. Can’t imagine I’m missing anything vital, but still feels a little weird.

– May has been “busy” for months but now I’m realizing June is quickly filling up, too.

– Kristen and I will celebrate our 15th anniversary in May. We’ll take a little getaway trip and while there, new tattoos. Found the tattoo I want and can’t wait to get it. I’m pretty excited about it.

– Got two gigs this week. One is a DiscipleNow and the other is a Christian blues set at a cancer benefit. Yep.

– One of my favorite things to watch on Netflix is the concert movie of Coldplay’s 2012 tour. Kristen and I saw the tour in Dallas back in the summer and it was the best live concert I’ve ever seen. (Better than U2.) The movie is great.

9 comments

  1. lizreeves

    What? No facebook? That’s gotta be hard!
    And umm…how are we going to see your new tattoo pic if you don’t have FB? 🙂
    Are you still doing the vlog?

    • toddwright

      Still vlog now and then. Mostly just too dang busy! I’ll be happy to show the tattoo to anybody who wants to see!

      • lizreeves

        Make sure & let us know (here on the blog) when you do a vlog. They’re fun to watch. The girls & I have had fun watching them over the past few years.

  2. Johnny Simmons

    The right drums for the right sounds.

    Same with pedals.

    Same with keyboard patches.

    As many as it takes.

    That said, how many guys who want kick, snare, hat use loops of other drums? Goofy.

Leave a Reply

