FRIDAY INSTIGATION

Dennis_the_Menace-logo-4B3DF4C3FF-seeklogo.com

Back with another batch of things that drive me crazy. I’m a little less grumpy this week since the new record was released, but it turns out that church world is still just as baffling and weird.

Debate is a good thing. Somewhere in the worship culture we’ve decided that every new album is good, all sermons are theologically sound and there are no bad worship songs.

I don’t submit these little rants for the sake of venting (although it helps.) I do it because some stuff is great and some stuff isn’t. And it should be talked about.

– Have now essentially left Twitter as well as Facebook. Honestly don’t miss it, but noticed an initial drop in readership of this blog. I think I underestimated how many folks land here via those sites. Ended up keeping Twitter alive and using my Google+ to push links out there, but still staying away from social media sites where I just scroll and scroll and scroll.

– I try to stay at least aware of new worship album releases, but feel pretty disconnected with most everything I’m hearing. Either it’s not good or I’m just getting too picky! Any good stuff out there I’m missing?

– My overall productivity drops seriously when there’s a new video game in this house.

– Thanks to some rehab, I’ve gotten back into running. I’m still slow, but trying.

– Related: belly fat is one tough thing to beat.

– My dad loves worship music. I love getting texts from him about songs he’s hearing and loving. He pretty often hips me to stuff I haven’t heard.

– Some denominations just aren’t good at preaching. There I said it. (Looking at you, United Methodists.)

– I’ve made no attempt to hide my love for country music, so naturally I’ve been listening to this Rock of Ages Medley by Guy Penrod all week.

2 comments

  1. Jeff Q

    Two of my favorite semi-recent Worship releases (that I’m sure you’ve already heard) have been Live in NY by Jesus Culture/Martin Smith and God My Rock by Brenton Brown. I’ve enjoyed them as a worshipper. Sometimes it’s hard to turn off the music side of my brain that loves to dissect arrangements/instrumentation etc. and just simply take it in.

    If you’re looking for a high-cardio, high-calorie burning exercise that’s easier on the body than running..get yo’self a mountain bike. We have miles and miles of great trails here around Tyler.

  2. lizreeves

    Couple things:
    1. You are missed on FB. Melody Wilson posted a pic of you tonight & Brian Boatman and I had a conversation in the comments to said pic about ways to lure you back. 🙂 Ha ha! Seriously though, big props to giving up social media. We could all use a little less of it.
    2. Will you reignite the “Run Todd Run” posts here on the blog since you’re running again?
    3. I told you before, but I love seeing your dad worship. There’s just something extra sweet about seeing an older guy with his hands raised to Jesus. 🙂
    4. I think that’s all.

Leave a Reply

