DEAR PASTOR (THE PROBLEM)

There was a time when I thought clear pulpits were the coolest thing I'd ever seen.

There was a time when I thought clear pulpits were the coolest thing I’d ever seen.

Your worship leader has linked you to this article because he or she loves you and wants to do great things for the Kingdom of God through the local church.

You’re reading this because your worship leader understands that the difficulties and stresses of your job far exceed what most folks would imagine them to be.

Unfortunately, a lot of worship leaders don’t feel comfortable talking to their pastors one-on-one about challenges within the church. If you’re reading this article, it’s a sign that your worship leader wants to create robust, encouraging dialogue about the life and ministry of the local church. I’d encourage you to use this post as starting point to spend some time with your worship leader! He or she wants to do good work!

Your worship leader believes in you and wants to leverage every inch of his/her gifting to support the church under your leadership. Read on with excitement!
This marks the start of a new phase in the ministry you two share!
____________________

Dear Pastor,

I want to do great things for God and I want to do them in this church. But to be honest, I don’t know how to go there with you. I love you and your ministry, but there’s a problem and I think it’s keeping us from coming alongside each other.

It’s pride. Yours. And mine.

Here’s how my pride manifests. I consider myself out there “among the people.” I honestly believe that I know our congregation like the back of my hand. Maybe I do, but it’s not a healthy way to look at ministry. Because I get to watch you work from the congregation’s perspective. I live in these two dimensions – knowing what you’re trying to do but also seeing from the cheap seats and noticing when things don’t work.

This creates pride in me because I assume I’m right about all these people and what they need. I often feel like I’ve got the answers and you won’t listen to me. I’m prideful and I think it’s hurting us.

Here’s how your pride manifests. You catch all the hate. If people don’t like the music, they tell you. If giving is down, the committee is on you about it. If you make a wrong call on building maintenance or curriculum, everybody hates your guts. I think this makes you guarded. When this happens, every comment – however well intentioned – feels like an attack. So you shut people down. Or you outtalk them. You’re pride hurts us, too.

Can we commit to putting all this pride aside? Just lay all that junk down and get together on making the Gospel come alive in this place? We won’t agree on everything, but if we do this humbly, I think amazing things might happen.

I don’t want to be prideful anymore and I don’t want you to perceive every hard talk as an attack. Because it’s not. It’s all good!

I want to lay my ego down and work toward what God wants for us. What do you say?

One comment

  1. Pingback: FRIDAY INSTIGATION | SONGS ARE FOR SINGING

Leave a Reply

