FRIDAY INSTIGATION

Dennis_the_Menace-logo-4B3DF4C3FF-seeklogo.com

Back with another batch of things that drive me crazy. I’m a little less grumpy this week since the new record was released, but it turns out that church world is still just as baffling and weird.

Debate is a good thing. Somewhere in the worship culture we’ve decided that every new album is good, all sermons are theologically sound and there are no bad worship songs.

I don’t submit these little rants for the sake of venting (although it helps.) I do it because some stuff is great and some stuff isn’t. And it should be talked about.

– Listened through the most recent SongDISCovery CD from Worship Leader Magazine and was perplexed. Those guys do a great job of finding a diverse collection of songs, but I’m surprised at how many extremely complex and nuanced songs they put on their for churches to (theoretically) use. One song in particular featured extremely complicated and nostalgic keyboard pads a la 1980’s new wave. Are church’s doing new wave songs, now? Is yours?

– Excited about hosting a worship seminar at Bethel this Summer. I think we’ve got something cool planned for small-to-mid-sized churches and I hope churches will come out.

– Recently watched back through John Mayer’s Where The Light Is concert DVD. I had forgotten a very interesting scene. After The Trio has played a jaw-dropping blues set, there’s a sequence where John is backstage surrounded by people and he’s venting that he’s “just not good enough.” Naturally, everyone around him is lavishing him with praise and telling him he’s the best. Why are we surprised when rock stars have big egos?

– Do worship music publishers even care what local churches think anymore? I’m not ranting, I’m asking a serious question. It seems all inverted where the publishers are now driving and just dictating who and what we should sound like. Comments welcome.

– Forgot to show the pic a few weeks ago of the tattoo I’m getting at the end of May. It’s the Holy Shield of the Trinity. I’m excited, but nervous. It’s a big one. Picture is at the bottom of the post.

– I’d love to start and run a worship label.

– Started a pretty aggressive diet (for me) last week. Trying hard but also relying on God’s help!

– Confession: I am uncomfortable when I see male/female musical duos that aren’t married. Even more so when it happens in Christian music.

4a9349e27ad5b4e69258da189ff37f83

6 comments

  1. Bob Whitton

    Wow. You nailed it this week. Even the tattoo. I’m with you on the new wave and “what the crap do the publishers think?”. At the same time, it makes me be a little more creative and figuring out how to turn these new wave songs into usable songs.

    • toddwright

      The worship seminar will just feature worship on the Saturday morning to kick it off.

      Diet’s pretty simple – low carb, small meals every three hours, trying to incorporate fruits and veg into my normal life. Nothing crazy…just prudent.

  2. johnnydrummer

    Re: Not good enough. Listen to Ken Myers’ music lectures on canon wired.com. Humbling.

    I have a Trinity mark. I call it “baptism.” ;^P

Leave a Reply

