FRIDAY INSTIGATION

Dennis_the_Menace-logo-4B3DF4C3FF-seeklogo.com

Back with another batch of things that drive me crazy. 

Debate is a good thing. Somewhere in the worship culture we’ve decided that every new album is good, all sermons are theologically sound and there are no bad worship songs.

I don’t submit these little rants for the sake of venting (although it helps.) I do it because some stuff is great and some stuff isn’t. And it should be talked about.

– Still seeing good results on the diet. I’ve added some “green” to what I eat, which is a big deal for me.

– Speaking of dieting, I’ve come to love two words: CHEAT DAY.

– Yesterday was my 15th wedding anniversary. God has been merciful and kind. Kristen and I are thankful for the marriage and the way the Father has sustained it.

– I always forget how hard Summer is when it comes to scheduling players at church. Have to call on all my musicians to step up!

– I’ve got two songs on the new Ross King album. One of the tunes is called “Hallelujah For The Cross” and I am beyond excited for people to hear it. Ross and his team took this song to the next level.

– Still trying to carve out time each week for songwriting. Nothing major yet, but I do like the discipline of it!

– I don’t have many delusions of grandeur, but every time I see some guy wailing on an MPC, I secretly think I could do it. (I am incorrect in this assumption.)

– I think we’re all gonna’ be real surprised when we get to Heaven. I bet they don’t even sing CCLI songs up there.

– Worship leaders, we gotta’ stop picking songs just because the melody is strong. These things are supposed to make sense.

– Read an interview with the head of a major Christian publisher. One of the most interesting things was when he said something akin to “We give a ton of resources away for free through our worship site, but we’ve got to figure out how to monetize it.”

One comment

  1. Luke Bilberry

    Just to create some dialogue, what makes a worship song good or bad? What makes a record a good or bad record?

Leave a Reply

