FRIDAY INSTIGATION

Dennis_the_Menace-logo-4B3DF4C3FF-seeklogo.com

Back with another batch of things that drive me crazy. 

Debate is a good thing. Somewhere in the worship culture we’ve decided that every new album is good, all sermons are theologically sound and there are no bad worship songs.

I don’t submit these little rants for the sake of venting (although it helps.) I do it because some stuff is great and some stuff isn’t. And it should be talked about.

– About halfway through Mike Cosper’s Rhythms of Grace. It’s been okay, but this week it came alive for me. Cosper’s take on “rehearsing” the Gospel message in corporate worship was by far the most practical, easy-to-understand approach I’ve read to date. Lots of guys have been talking about this the past couple of years, but Cosper is by the most compelling/encouraging I’ve found.

– Led one of my songs (from Songs For Singing) for the first time last Sunday. We did Lead Us In The Way Of Jesus. It’s always a little odd when you’ve recorded a song and never once led it. I was pleased with it. It came off much smoother than I anticipated.

– There are two areas where the worship ministry at church is lacking: male vocals and young musicians. I love diversity among our worship ministry and would like more people to be involved!

– Got to play acoustic guitar as I led last week and enjoyed it a lot – it’s been awhile! Keep trying to figure out how I could play in addition to my acoustic guitar player, but figure my sound techs would mix my guitar too high and not let the other guy be the stronger acoustic channel.

– I’ve often questioned doing songs from churches that are known to have bad theological underpinnings. Getting a taste of my own medicine now with the whole Sovereign Grace sex abuse scandal. If the claims about SGM leadership are true, it creates a perplexing issue – can good, God-honoring songs come out of place where evil is being practiced so blatantly?

5 comments

  1. johnnydrummer

    I’m of two minds on the last issue. Vaughn Williams was an atheist but wrote great music. Phillips, Craig and Dean are modalist heretics but some of their arrangements are okay. For me I’d use the music of the former as he doesn’t get a CCLI check in Hell, but I’m uncomfortable putting Church money in the hands of Her enemies. It’s not the hill I want to die on, though. If someone (say, Stephen Smith) feels otherwise I don’t condemn him.

    • toddwright

      Johnny, I hate for folks to feel like they can’t speak freely on the site. What do you REALLY think of PCD?

Leave a Reply

