TAKING MY OWN ADVICE

the-10-best-restaurants-for-a-business-lunch-in-bostonLast week, I was thirty minutes into a post before I realized that I had no idea what I was talking about.

I try to be as honest as I can here on the blog. I work hard to make sure the ideas at this site are about me – where I live and serve. I try to avoid becoming some sort of finger-pointing corrective. I think the posts hit that mark on a pretty steady basis, but every once in awhile, I realize that I’m writing about something good and valuable that I’ve never done.

The post last week was titled “when to leave.” I was talking about how to leave a church in a way that honors both the Father’s call on your life as well as the people you’ve pastored. At about the third paragraph, I went off a tangent about how young worship leaders needed to know more seasoned and older worship leaders for moments like this. Guys and gals in ministry a long time can offer practical and hard-won help on leaving a church well.

Then I realized it.

I don’t hang out with older worship leaders.

I’ve never sought out that sort of relationship with other worship leaders. Occasionally, I’ve been in proximity to worship leaders with more experience, but when it comes to investing in that sort of relationship, I’ve just ignored it.

So, I’m reaching out, trying to find guys close to me who have walked the ministry road for a long time. It won’t be easy. There aren’t a lot of old worship leaders. (Have you noticed that? Probably worth a blog all on its own!)

I’m gonna’ find guys. I’m gonna’ take them to lunch. I’m gonna’ ask questions and I’m gonna’ shut up and listen.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

