TODD RECOMMENDS…HOT LINKS

Screen shot 2013-01-22 at 12.17.05 AMTo be totally honest, I do think we probably all need to pull back on the ol’ internet consumption, but the reality is that most of couldn’t work without it. That’s why I love finding sites that are helpful or encouraging to worship leaders. It’s a nice change from browsing nerdy movie review blogs.

Not that I do that.

When it comes to ministry, it seems as if we’re still learning how to best use the “information superhighway” to actually share information and encouragement with others, especially those in the field of worship ministry. Couple of web things have caught my attention lately, so I thought I’d pass along. And don’t forget to share your own recommendations for cool stuff.

And don’t forget to use the comments if you’ve found stuff out there that might encourage and instruct worship leaders!

___________________

Screen shot 2013-07-28 at 6.19.02 PMA New Liturgy is a project created by worship leader, Aaron Niequist, and is an “attempt to create holy space wherever we find ourselves. A moveable, sonic sanctuary. Released quarterly, each Liturgy is a 25 minute journey of music, prayer, scripture, and space that helps open us to The Almighty in any location, season, community, or emotion.”I saw Aaron lead at the Echo conference last week and was both blessed and intrigued by the service. I heard about the site last year, but hadn’t spent much time on it. I figured since I’ve become a bit more “liturgical” lately, I’d give it a try. It’s not a traditional album, but a recorded service built around a specific theme and utilizing songs, readings, prayers and silence. The minor-key, “dark” elements of the recordings might be a shock to the uninitiated, but the balance of tension and resolution is managed well. You can find the service at iTunes or hit the site at anewliturgy.com.

 

Screen shot 2013-07-28 at 6.28.01 PMSince I use the phrase “Indigenous Worship” quite a bit, I pretty stoked when I saw it was the title of Adam Russell’s worship and songwriting blog. I found Adam’s music through some recent Vineyard stuff I’ve been digging. (If you don’t know this, Vineyard hasbeen putting some great new music in a well-versed Americana/Alt-country vibe.) I love Adam’s writing – high on encouragement, low on pretense. So far, I’ve noticed that the blog is a chance to hear from a guy who’s learned (and thought) more about songwriting than I ever will! I appreciate his perspective and his humility. His recent post, “maybe i’m crazy…” is a great example of this. I’ve never thought about songwriters writing songs with specific rooms in mind, but you know what? We do! If you’re a songwriter who wants to write better songs for folks in your church, make this site a part of your routine!

___________________

So, instead you’re refreshing your blog stats one more time (Not that I do that) why not hit these links? I bet they’ll be a huge encouragement to you!

Leave a Reply

