10/1/13

Screen shot 2013-09-30 at 10.34.51 PMI was in Dallas all day working on a new musical endeavor that I am super excited about. I’ve never done anything quite like it and it a sense, it marks a milestone for me as a songwriter and singer.

The sad thing is that I can’t really tell you what it is…yet.

Suffice it to say that I joined back up with my friend and producer, Jon Meyer, to record a brand new song. I can’t say when it’ll be ready, but it was fun to spend a couple days trying to create something awesome. Not sure if we did or not. . .but I’m sure hoping so!

This trip was very different from recording an album. If a full-length project is a marathon, then a two-day single is goofing off down at the walking track with your buddies. Jon is really good at this – turning on gear and just making stuff happen in the moment. It’s reminiscent of all those old stories you hear about classic rock bands showing up and creating song in the studio, on the fly. Though this song was certainly written and complete, it’s definitely looser than trying to nail 10 songs over a two month period.

We already had drum tracks done, so first thing we tracked acoustic rhythm stuff. I used my Herman acoustic and Jon suggested we double it. (We’re getting very “Nashville” up in here, y’all.)

I did quite a few vocal passes. The song is pretty broad, so I did choruses first and then worked on the verses. This is a tune I haven’t done very much, so I’m still kinda’ learning my way through it.

We set Kirk up on electrics and let him play through the song a few times, just working out parts, trying things. We laid down a few chorus sections and then broke for lunch. After lunch, Jon put Kirk through the paces – doubling parts, solo breaks, texture stuff. I was also really glad Jon played bass on the tune. I love to hear that guy play music – he’s got such a natural, comfortable playing style.

This song is unique because Jon won’t be mixing it. Because of that, he’s trying to comp the best possible tracks to hand over to the mix engineer when the time comes. Jon ended the day working on some track editing and I headed for the cold, lonely embrace of a hotel room. Fortunately, that hotel was right next door to an In-N-Out Burger. I think I’ll live.

Tomorrow, it’s more vocals and all the bells and whistles that secretly make songs better. (Jon is also a master of this. Looking forward to watching him work.)

Before the storm.

Before the storm.

2013-10-01 08.50.03

Quick! Somebody run my voice through this thing!

2013-10-01 08.50.31

I’m not sure we needed to use this guitar on the song, but it looked so cool, we had to!

2013-10-01 11.22.14-2

MORE DELAY, KIRK! MORE DELAY!

Leave a Reply

