A BRILLIANT IDEA THAT SHOULD BE DONE

A couple of weeks ago, the kids and I were making the rounds on Free Comic Book Day and I came across a sale rack at the local Hastings.

Much to my son’s enjoyment, I’ve slowly been leaving my DC allegiances and enjoying Marvel comics for both their superior artwork and writing. I still love Batman, but it’s hard to beat all the recent Marvel stuff.

It should be said that I’m not a “collector.” As much as I enjoy comics, I don’t the budget or time to follow single issue releases each week. Instead, I buy comic collections or trade books that compile multiple issues into volumes that follow the storylines. This prevents me, of course, from knowing all the ins-and-outs of the comics world, but it allows me to get the enjoyment of the books while still remaining a functioning member of society.

th (1)That’s why I was so intrigued with Brian Michael Bendis: 10 Years At Marvel. Instead of creating a whole volume of one storyline, this massive book lets Bendis pick some of his favorite issues and just throws them all together.

As a writer of sorts (songs, blogging, etc.) I was fascinated with this book. The art varied – sometimes page to page – but the author’s narrative skill was evident no matter if the comic pages went silly or dark. It was a great read, and instantly made me want to pick up those storylines.

I’m surprised this isn’t common practice among comic publishers as a way of enticing new customers. I had read very little of Bendis, but this book made me an instant fan, much more willing to slap down a few bucks to see what else he has going.

I think comics are still the most underrated literary form and I’m for anything that will get new eyes onto the pages.

Leave a Reply

