ON COMICS

Screen Shot 2015-01-29 at 10.44.49 PMOn June 1, 2012, I decide to do something I had always dreamed of doing.

I bought a comic.

My son had loved comic books ever since he was very little, and I had always been fascinated with the books. Then, in 2012, I find Kevin Smith’s Fatman On Batman podcast. Thinking it would just be another one of Smith’s crude/lude ramblings about the movies, I was surprised to find it was actually about comic books. So I started listening, thinking the whole time that I couldn’t get “into” comic books. It seemed like such a deep well and didn’t appear to be an art form designed for newcomers. I thought you had to know a lot of backstory to read comics.

Then I heard about The New 52. Now, I know the DC’s vast reboot hacked off a lot of people, but for me, it was perfect – a way to enter into the DC universe without a lot of prior knowledge.

So, on June 1, I ordered my first comic. While I’m certainly not a “collector,” I have loved reading comics the last two years. I’m also not a guy with a lot of disposable income, so my comic purchases are few and far between. I’m still reading and still buying, and I thought it would be neat to re-read through my collection and post thoughts here. These aren’t reviews upon first reading, but rather what I like/dislike after continued times with the books.

If comics seem silly to you, feel free to skip this post. Just remember…everybody loves at least one thing that’s silly. This is one of mine.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: ON COMICS: BATMAN, VOL. 1 | I LIKE BLOGGING
  2. Pingback: ON COMICS: BATMAN CACOPHONY | I LIKE BLOGGING

Leave a Reply

